Reviews

Awesome!

10 out of 10

"Truly a fantastic hotel. Beautiful rooms, super friendly receptionists, nice 24/7 "supermarket", perfect location. The decor is great and the rooms are big compared to other hotels in Rotterdam. Highly recommended! I will definitely come back!"

Ed, April 9th 2020

Splendid hotel

10 out of 10

"Beautifully located, central and easy to find. Super useful parking elevator for the car so you don't have to worry about finding an affordable parking space. The room was neat, we were on the 18th floor with a nice view over Rotterdam. The Foodmarket is also very useful if you want to buy a snack or something to drink, or if you want to have breakfast. No extensive breakfast possible, but sufficient and tasty. Beautiful furniture and beautiful colors throughout the hotel."

Jolien, April 8th 2020

Two nights in The James

10 out of 10

"Very nice hotel, would be worth 4 stars if they had a real restaurant. Nice room, good bed and all expected facilities, luxury bathroom, coffee/tea in the room, free netflix on TV. Breakfast via foodplaza on 2nd floor with self-service, no freshly prepared breakfast but with pre-packed sandwiches etc. Unfortunately there was no orange juice and the choice of sandwiches was a bit strange for breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful."

Joop, April 6th 2020

Beautiful

10 out of 10

"A beautiful hotel located in the middle of the city centre of Rotterdam. An ideal place if you want to spend the night in the city centre. From the fifteenth floor you have a beautiful view over Rotterdam and beyond. The room was luxurious. Beautifully decorated. The bathroom was also nice with a lovely shower. On the second floor is the 24/7 foodstore with a very nice and cozy lounge, really enjoyed it!"

Rob, April 6th 2020

Wonderful hotel, with lovely competent staff willing to help

8 out of 10

"On arrival, i received a free upgrade to a suite, which was totally unexpected, but very grateful. The Junior suites are furnished nicely, and in my opinion, well worth the extra cost. When you bear in mind that this cost will be similar to a room rate of some nearby hotels. The only downside for me is, the lack of a restaurant. The only food available is from the small foodmarket , which is fairly well stocked for snacks and drinks, but you cant get a meal."

Pianl, March 19th 2020

Excellent staff

9 out of 10

"We arrived around 9.30am and obviously weren’t expecting to check but the lady at reception moved our room and allowed us to check in immediately which was fabulous. The room itself was HUGE and the shower was lovely. The hotel itself was very quiet and the food market was well stocked with everything you may need."

Laura, March 15th 2020

Wheelchair users an excellent choice

10 out of 10

"Disabled travellers* Excellent disabled facilities in the heart of Rotterdam 10min max walk/roll from central station. As with all disability access the biggest help is the attitude of the staff which was excellent here. Friendly and easy going but professional and the room had the full accessible set up."

Oliver, March 2nd 2020

Very central!

8 out of 10

"Very central! We were able to easily get everywhere by foot! We had our room in on the 16th floor and we couldn’t open the windows"

Anonymous, January 17th 2020

Overall a great stay.

10 out of 10

"I've travelled all over the world but I was astonished about how lovely the James was. The 24hr snack bar was a godsend. Sure it's not cheap but it's very convenient and the food area to sit and eat is stunning. Well designed. Room was HUGE. Bed comfy and best of all quiet. Staff were friendly and the hotel smelled lovely. Overall a great stay. Thank you The James!"

Anonymous, January 13th 2020

E.

8 out of 10

"I stayed in The James for 4 days in October. I give 4 stars for the hotel and 5 stars for the staff. The first thing you notice when you enter is the awesome fragrance that permeates all areas of the hotel. They have done a great job making the ambiance warm and inviting. The hotel is pretty true to the images given on the website. It was a bit smaller than expected but was still entirely comfortable and nicely decorated. I have never slept better than I did at The James. The bed was perfectly firm and I couldn't feel my partner moving next to me. The black out curtains fit the window perfectly (no blinding gaps!!) and I was able to create the most perfect darkness. I typically need a face mask and ear plugs to sleep but my room maintained silence my entire stay. The hotel had arranged rose petals on the bed as we were staying for an anniversary and we really appreciated this extra touch. The rain shower was fantastic and I appreciated the open fridge policy which enabled us to eat healthy and have chilled drinks as needed. The staff was friendly and personable and the housekeeping staff were very efficient. I took one star from the facility because: there was no robe or slippers supplied which is something I really appreciate in a hotel. The hotel was nicely designed but a bit bare-bones as far as personal luxuries and didn't have a true breakfast option as the kiosk was mostly snacks. I liked the large bottles of shampoo and handwash in the bathroom - anything to be more eco conscious. I definitely recommend The James if you are in Rotterdam and looking for an affordable, clean and a conveniently located hotel. It is great at what it does and my complaints are mostly comforts that I personally prefer. There is an AH supermarket within walking distance and great shopping nearby."

E., October 19th 2019